Plays on YouTube · loads when you press playThai & Southeast Asian · a pinch of salt by sara
Rendang ayam
From the video “Best Rendang Ayam Recipe! | Authentic Malaysian Chicken Rendang (Traditional Recipe)” by a pinch of salt by sara. RecipesMD is not affiliated with a pinch of salt by sara. Steps are in our own words.
Ingredients
- No pork
Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.
The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.
Ontario grocery estimate*
You save about ~$9.35* per serving (55% less*) than ordering it out — ~$18.70* for ~2 portions.
Order out = a typical Ontario Southeast Asian restaurant plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.
8 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 14 predicted from typical costs · not priced: galangal, fresh turmeric, candlenut, lemongrass, cumin seed, fennel seed…
* Estimate, not a quote: predicted from the ingredient list: 8 line(s) priced from Ontario averages, the rest filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 2 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario Southeast Asian restaurant plate at ~$17, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.
- stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
- stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
- stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
- stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
- stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
- stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
- stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
- stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
- stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
- stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
- stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
- stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
- stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
- stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
- stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
- stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
- stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
- stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
- stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
- stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
- stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
- stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
- stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
- shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
- stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
- stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
- stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess
Nutrition & health
Not estimated: only 48% of ingredient lines (99% of mass) could be matched to USDA data (minimum 60%).
Equipment
What the video didn’t say
- Exact cooking duration in minutes is not stated.
- Yield and number of servings are not stated.
Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are a pinch of salt by sara’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.