Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

North American · Adam Ragusea

Simple stovetop mac and cheese

From the video “Simple Mac & Cheese” by Adam Ragusea. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Adam Ragusea. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personEasyFine for a weeknight
Not spicy
Total time
~135 min
est., not stated in the video: 120 min stated in steps + 12 min for 4 steps without a time + 4 min prep for 5 ingredients; model check 110 min agrees
Serves
~5
est., not stated in the video: 5 servings of rice/noodles (~90 g dry or ~200 g cooked each); model check 6 agrees
Cost
~$2.28*
per serving, Ontario (~4 portions assumed)save ~$12.72* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Easy
Ingredients
5

Ingredients

  • Vegetarian

May contain gluten, dairy

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$9.10*for the batch in the video
~$2.28*per serving

You save about ~$12.72* per serving (85% less*) than ordering it out — ~$50.90* for ~4 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario mac and cheese, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

1 ingredient priced from Ontario averages · 3 predicted from typical costs · not priced: whole milk, kraft deli deluxe american cheese, large pasta shells

* Estimate, not a quote: predicted from the ingredient list: 1 line(s) priced from Ontario averages, the rest filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 4 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario mac and cheese at ~$15, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (1 here)

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving931 kcal · 47% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat52 g66%
Saturated fat31 g155%
Sodium1,761 mg77%
Carbohydrate82 g30%
Fiber2.9 g10%
Total sugars14 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein35 g70%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+4 of 20
  • Saturated fat−20 of 20
  • Sodium−16 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 4 of 4 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 5 servings (estimated: 5 servings of rice/noodles (~90 g dry or ~200 g cooked each); model check 6 agrees). Not counted because the video gives no amount: black pepper. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • saucepan
  • pot
  • wooden spoon
  • colander
  • baking dish
  • aluminum foil
  • oven

What the video didn’t say

  • servings and total cooking time were not explicitly stated
  • exact quantity of black pepper is not specified

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-02. Thumbnail and video are Adam Ragusea’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.