Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

North American · Chef Billy Parisi

Corned beef and cabbage

From the video “Homemade Corned Beef and Cabbage Recipe » Cure + Cooked” by Chef Billy Parisi. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Chef Billy Parisi. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personInvolvedWeekend project
Mild
Total time
~10 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 10 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~12
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (16: 2722 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (8)
Cost
~$5.66*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$15.34* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Involved
Ingredients
20

Ingredients

  • No pork

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$16.99*for the batch in the video
~$5.66*per serving

You save about ~$15.34* per serving (73% less*) than ordering it out — ~$46.01* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario meat entrée, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

5 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 7 predicted from typical costs · not priced: allspice berries, cloves, mustard seeds, coriander seeds, pickling spice, brisket flat

* Estimate, not a quote: predicted from the ingredient list: 5 line(s) priced from Ontario averages, the rest filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario meat entrée at ~$21, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (1 here)

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving784 kcal · 39% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat44 g56%
Saturated fat17 g86%
Sodium13,394 mg582%
Carbohydrate52 g19%
Fiber7.1 g25%
Total sugars25 gno daily value
Added sugars18 g36%
Protein46 g93%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexTreat
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+13 of 20
  • Saturated fat−20 of 20
  • Sodium−20 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−9 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 11 of 18 ingredient lines (98% of the measured weight), divided into 12 servings (estimated: average of rules (16: 2722 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (8)). Not matched to nutrient data: allspice berries, cinnamon stick, cloves, mustard seeds, coriander seeds, pickling spice. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • bowl
  • fork
  • large pot
  • whisk
  • cutting board
  • knife
  • peeler
  • tongs

What the video didn’t say

  • Exact number of carrots used within the 6-8 range
  • Exact ratio of red vs yukon potatoes used

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Chef Billy Parisi’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.