Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

North American · Food Wishes

Coney dog

From the video “Coney Dogs - Coney Island Hot Dog - Hot Dog with Spicy Meat Sauce” by Food Wishes. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Food Wishes. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Mild
Total time
~110 min
est., not stated in the video: 60 min stated in steps + 36 min for 12 steps without a time + 12 min prep for 16 ingredients; model check 75 min agrees
Serves
~4
est., not stated in the video: model estimate (no quantities to work from)
Cost
~$3.73*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$14.27* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
17

Ingredients

  • No pork

May contain gluten, dairy

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$11.20*for the batch in the video
~$3.73*per serving

You save about ~$14.27* per serving (79% less*) than ordering it out — ~$42.80* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario casual-restaurant plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

7 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 2 predicted from typical costs · not priced: hot dog bun, hot dog

* Estimate, not a quote: 2 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario casual-restaurant plate at ~$18, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (3 here)

Nutrition & health

Rough estimate: the video gives few amounts, so 64% of the weight below uses typical amounts.

Nutrition per serving89 kcal · 4% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat5.1 g7%
Saturated fat2.6 g13%
Sodium143 mg6%
Carbohydrate6.6 g2%
Fiber0.7 g3%
Total sugars3.6 gno daily value
Added sugars2.1 g4%
Protein4.8 g10%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+11 of 20
  • Saturated fat−20 of 20
  • Sodium−14 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−9 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 9 of 12 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 4 servings (estimated: model estimate (no quantities to work from)). Typical amounts assumed for ground beef, garlic, butter, celery salt, cumin, ketchup and 2 more, because the video doesn’t say how much. Not counted because the video gives no amount: black pepper, salt, cayenne pepper. Not matched to nutrient data: chili powder, hot dog bun, hot dog. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • saucepan
  • potato masher

What the video didn’t say

  • exact amounts of ground beef, garlic, butter, celery salt, black pepper, salt, cumin, cayenne, water, and ketchup
  • exact cooking times and final consistency preferences

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Food Wishes’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.