Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

European · Food Wishes

Goulash

From the video “Beef Goulash - Hungarian Beef Goulash Recipe - Paprika Beef Stew” by Food Wishes. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Food Wishes. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Mild
Total time
~195 min
est., not stated in the video: 139 min stated in steps + 39 min for 13 steps without a time + 16 min prep for 21 ingredients; model check 150 min agrees
Serves
~4
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (1: 240 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (6)
Cost
~$10.97*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$11.03* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
21

Ingredients

  • No pork

May contain gluten, dairy, egg

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$32.91*for the batch in the video
~$10.97*per serving

You save about ~$11.03* per serving (50% less*) than ordering it out — ~$33.09* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario bistro plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

6 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 6 predicted from typical costs · not priced: caraway seeds

* Estimate, not a quote: 6 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario bistro plate at ~$22, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (1 here)

Nutrition & health

Rough estimate: the video gives few amounts, so 87% of the weight below uses typical amounts.

Nutrition per serving1,013 kcal · 51% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat54 g69%
Saturated fat17 g85%
Sodium180 mg8%
Carbohydrate86 g31%
Fiber6 g21%
Total sugars8.4 gno daily value
Added sugars1.1 g2%
Protein48 g96%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexBalanced
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+9 of 20
  • Saturated fat−17 of 20
  • Sodium−1 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 15 of 19 ingredient lines (99% of the measured weight), divided into 4 servings (estimated: average of rules (1: 240 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (6)). Typical amounts assumed for beef chuck, vegetable oil, onions, olive oil, paprika, thyme and 6 more, because the video doesn’t say how much. Not counted because the video gives no amount: salt, black pepper, marjoram, balsamic vinegar. Not matched to nutrient data: caraway seeds. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • cutting board
  • knife
  • skillet
  • tongs
  • stew pot
  • wooden spoon
  • mortar and pestle
  • ladle
  • fork

What the video didn’t say

  • Exact amounts for salt, pepper, vegetable oil, olive oil, paprika, marjoram, thyme, cayenne, tomato paste, garlic, sugar, balsamic vinegar, and sour cream are not specified.
  • Exact cooking yield and total preparation/cooking time are not stated.

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Food Wishes’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.