Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

European · Food Wishes

Potato pancakes

From the video “How to Make Potato Pancakes - Classic Potato Pancakes Recipe” by Food Wishes. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Food Wishes. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Mild
Total time
~70 min
est., not stated in the video: 30 min stated in steps + 36 min for 12 steps without a time + 6 min prep for 8 ingredients; model check 50 min agrees
Serves
~3
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (1: 100 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (4)
Cost
~$0.83*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$21.17* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
8

Ingredients

  • Vegetarian

May contain gluten, egg

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$2.49*for the batch in the video
~$0.83*per serving

You save about ~$21.17* per serving (96% less*) than ordering it out — ~$63.51* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario bistro plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

4 ingredients priced from Ontario averages

* Estimate, not a quote: every counted line priced from Ontario averages; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario bistro plate at ~$22, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving323 kcal · 16% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat3.5 g4%
Saturated fat1.1 g6%
Sodium69 mg3%
Carbohydrate63 g23%
Fiber7.7 g28%
Total sugars4.3 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein12 g23%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexBalanced
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+19 of 20
  • Fiber+20 of 20
  • Saturated fat−3 of 20
  • Sodium−2 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 3 of 5 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 3 servings (estimated: average of rules (1: 100 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (4)). Not counted because the video gives no amount: flour, black pepper, cayenne, salt, oil. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • cheese grater
  • mixing bowl
  • colander
  • spatula
  • heavy-duty skillet
  • paper towels

What the video didn’t say

  • exact quantity of flour
  • exact quantity of salt
  • exact quantity of black pepper
  • exact quantity of oil
  • servings
  • total preparation time

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Food Wishes’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.