Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

North American · Food Wishes

Shepherd's pie

From the video “How to Make Irish Shepherd's Pie | Food Wishes” by Food Wishes. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Food Wishes. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Mild
Total time
~90 min
est., not stated in the video: 34 min stated in steps + 39 min for 13 steps without a time + 16 min prep for 21 ingredients; model check 75 min agrees
Serves
~5
est., not stated in the video: 907 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 6 agrees
Cost
~$2.73*
per serving, Ontario (~8 portions assumed)save ~$5.77* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
22

Ingredients

  • No pork

May contain gluten, dairy, egg

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$21.83*for the batch in the video
~$2.73*per serving

You save about ~$5.77* per serving (68% less*) than ordering it out — ~$46.17* for ~8 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario dessert, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

11 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 3 predicted from typical costs · not priced: ground lamb, flour, rosemary

* Estimate, not a quote: 3 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 8 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario dessert at ~$8.50, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving1,050 kcal · 53% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat73 g94%
Saturated fat35 g175%
Sodium739 mg32%
Carbohydrate54 g20%
Fiber7.6 g27%
Total sugars13 gno daily value
Added sugars5.1 g10%
Protein46 g91%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+10 of 20
  • Saturated fat−20 of 20
  • Sodium−6 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−2 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 17 of 18 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 5 servings (estimated: 907 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 6 agrees). Typical amounts assumed for olive oil, butter, paprika, cinnamon, ketchup, garlic and 6 more, because the video doesn’t say how much. Not counted because the video gives no amount: salt, pepper, rosemary. Not matched to nutrient data: flour. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • Dutch oven
  • wooden spoon
  • baking dish
  • spatula
  • pot
  • potato masher
  • fork
  • oven

What the video didn’t say

  • exact serving count
  • total preparation and cooking time
  • precise measurements for unstated quantities

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Food Wishes’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.