Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

South Asian · Joshua Weissman

Chicken tikka masala

From the video “Homemade Chicken Tikka Masala That Anyone Can Make” by Joshua Weissman. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Joshua Weissman. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Medium
Total time
~340 min
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (580 min: 537 min stated in steps + 24 min for 8 steps without a time + 17 min prep for 22 ingredients) and model check (95 min)
Serves
~5
est., not stated in the video: 907 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 6 agrees
Cost
~$7.49*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$10.51* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
23

Ingredients

  • No pork

May contain dairy

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$22.47*for the batch in the video
~$7.49*per serving

You save about ~$10.51* per serving (58% less*) than ordering it out — ~$31.53* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario curry with rice, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

10 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 5 predicted from typical costs · not priced: coriander seeds, cumin seeds, cardamom pods, canned whole peeled tomatoes

* Estimate, not a quote: 5 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario curry with rice at ~$18, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (1 here)

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving671 kcal · 34% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat46 g59%
Saturated fat23 g114%
Sodium1,459 mg63%
Carbohydrate25 g9%
Fiber5.3 g19%
Total sugars13 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein43 g86%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+11 of 20
  • Saturated fat−20 of 20
  • Sodium−19 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 16 of 20 ingredient lines (99% of the measured weight), divided into 5 servings (estimated: 907 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 6 agrees). Not counted because the video gives no amount: basmati rice, cardamom pods, cooking oil, salt, fresh cilantro. Not matched to nutrient data: coriander seeds. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • small saucepan
  • high-speed blender
  • fine mesh sieve
  • electric pressure cooker
  • large sauté pan
  • tongs
  • wooden spoon

What the video didn’t say

  • exact serving count
  • total preparation and cooking time
  • exact amount of basmati rice used

Read from the public video by gemini-3.7-flash on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Joshua Weissman’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.