Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

North American · Joshua Weissman Recipes

Beef ribs

From the video “The Best Beef Short Ribs Ever” by Joshua Weissman Recipes . RecipesMD is not affiliated with Joshua Weissman Recipes . Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personInvolvedWeekend project
Not spicy
Total time
~15 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 14 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~7
est., not stated in the video: 1200 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 6 agrees
Cost
~$14.71*
per serving, Ontario (~2 portions assumed)save ~$19.29* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Involved
Ingredients
29

Ingredients

  • No pork

May contain gluten, dairy, fish

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$29.41*for the batch in the video
~$14.71*per serving

You save about ~$19.29* per serving (57% less*) than ordering it out — ~$38.59* for ~2 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario meat entrée, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

12 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 11 predicted from typical costs · not priced: beef short ribs, high-heat oil, red wine, beef stock, chives, fresh horseradish…

* Estimate, not a quote: 11 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 2 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario meat entrée at ~$34, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (1 here)

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving246 kcal · 12% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat16 g21%
Saturated fat9.5 g48%
Sodium368 mg16%
Carbohydrate19 g7%
Fiber3.2 g11%
Total sugars9.4 gno daily value
Added sugars4.3 g9%
Protein11 g22%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+19 of 20
  • Saturated fat−20 of 20
  • Sodium−13 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−7 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 18 of 27 ingredient lines (90% of the measured weight), divided into 7 servings (estimated: 1200 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 6 agrees). Not counted because the video gives no amount: kosher salt, black pepper, all-purpose flour, high-heat oil. Not matched to nutrient data: beef short ribs, red wine, beef stock, fresh thyme, fresh horseradish, polenta and 1 more. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • Dutch oven
  • saucepan
  • cheesecloth
  • kitchen twine
  • parchment paper
  • microplane
  • fine-mesh strainer

What the video didn’t say

  • servings
  • totalMin
  • exact amount of flour and oil used for searing

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Joshua Weissman Recipes ’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.