Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

North American · Joy of Baking

Pound cake

From the video “Pound Cake (Classic Version) - Joyofbaking.com” by Joy of Baking. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Joy of Baking. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personEasyWeekend project
Not spicy
Total time
~10 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 9 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~5
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (1: 200 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (8)
Cost
~$0.78*
per serving, Ontario (~8 portions assumed)save ~$7.72* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Easy
Ingredients
7

Ingredients

  • Vegetarian

May contain gluten, dairy, egg

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$6.26*for the batch in the video
~$0.78*per serving

You save about ~$7.72* per serving (91% less*) than ordering it out — ~$61.74* for ~8 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario dessert, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

4 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 2 predicted from typical costs · not priced: vanilla extract, baking powder

* Estimate, not a quote: 2 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 8 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario dessert at ~$8.50, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (6 here)

Nutrition & health

Rough estimate: the video gives few amounts, so 75% of the weight below uses typical amounts.

Nutrition per serving581 kcal · 29% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat42 g53%
Saturated fat25 g125%
Sodium573 mg25%
Carbohydrate40 g15%
Fiber1.4 g5%
Total sugars1.7 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein11 g23%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+11 of 20
  • Fiber+3 of 20
  • Saturated fat−20 of 20
  • Sodium−9 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 6 of 6 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 5 servings (estimated: average of rules (1: 200 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (8)). Typical amounts assumed for milk, vanilla extract, flour, baking powder, butter, because the video doesn’t say how much. Not counted because the video gives no amount: salt. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • stand mixer
  • loaf pan
  • mixing bowl
  • whisk
  • spatula
  • oven
  • cooling rack

What the video didn’t say

  • Exact ingredient quantities were not stated or clearly shown.
  • Baking time and oven temperature were not stated.
  • Yield and servings were not stated.

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Joy of Baking’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.