Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Thai & Southeast Asian · Marion Grasby

Panang chicken curry

From the video “Real Deal Thai Panang Chicken Curry - Marion's Kitchen” by Marion Grasby. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Marion Grasby. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personInvolvedWeekend project
Medium
Total time
~10 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 8 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~4
est., not stated in the video: model estimate (no quantities to work from)
Cost
~$4.99*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$13.01* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Involved
Ingredients
19

Ingredients

  • No pork

May contain peanuts, shellfish, fish

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$14.97*for the batch in the video
~$4.99*per serving

You save about ~$13.01* per serving (72% less*) than ordering it out — ~$39.03* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario curry with rice, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

6 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 10 predicted from typical costs · not priced: galangal, red shallots, lemongrass, coriander roots, kaffir lime, shrimp paste…

* Estimate, not a quote: predicted from the ingredient list: 6 line(s) priced from Ontario averages, the rest filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario curry with rice at ~$18, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Rough estimate: the video gives few amounts, so 100% of the weight below uses typical amounts.

Nutrition per serving514 kcal · 26% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat38 g49%
Saturated fat22 g108%
Sodium530 mg23%
Carbohydrate17 g6%
Fiber1.7 g6%
Total sugars9.3 gno daily value
Added sugars7.5 g15%
Protein31 g61%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+5 of 20
  • Saturated fat−20 of 20
  • Sodium−9 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−6 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 11 of 17 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 4 servings (estimated: model estimate (no quantities to work from)). Typical amounts assumed for dried red chillies, garlic, red shallots, coriander roots, cumin, peanuts and 5 more, because the video doesn’t say how much. Not counted because the video gives no amount: galangal, lemongrass, kaffir lime, shrimp paste, coriander, chilli soaking liquid and 2 more. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • bowl
  • knife
  • cutting board
  • blender
  • wok
  • wooden spatula
  • lid
  • spoon

What the video didn’t say

  • Exact ingredient quantities were not stated
  • Cooking times and temperatures were not precisely specified
  • Servings and total preparation time were not provided

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Marion Grasby’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.