Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Japanese · No Recipes

Sunomono

From the video “Japanese Cucumber Salad (酢の物 - Sunomono)” by No Recipes. RecipesMD is not affiliated with No Recipes. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personEasyFine for a weeknight
Not spicy
Total time
~25 min
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (30 min: 5 min stated in steps + 21 min for 7 steps without a time + 6 min prep for 8 ingredients) and model check (15 min)
Serves
~4
est., not stated in the video: model estimate (no quantities to work from)
Cost
~$1.80*
per serving, Ontario (~2 portions assumed)save ~$16.20* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Easy
Ingredients
8

Ingredients

  • Vegan

May contain sesame

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$3.60*for the batch in the video
~$1.80*per serving

You save about ~$16.20* per serving (90% less*) than ordering it out — ~$32.40* for ~2 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario Japanese restaurant plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

1 ingredient priced from Ontario averages · 5 predicted from typical costs · not priced: wakame, cooked seafood, toasted sesame seeds

* Estimate, not a quote: predicted from the ingredient list: 1 line(s) priced from Ontario averages, the rest filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 2 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario Japanese restaurant plate at ~$18, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (6 here)

Nutrition & health

Not estimated: only 50% of ingredient lines (100% of mass) could be matched to USDA data (minimum 60%).

Equipment

  • knife
  • cutting board
  • mandoline
  • glass bowls
  • chopsticks

What the video didn’t say

  • Exact measurements for salt, sugar, rice vinegar, wakame, and toppings are not explicitly stated.

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are No Recipes’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.