Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Mexican · Rick Bayless

Tacos al pastor

From the video “Tacos al Pastor | Rick Bayless Taco Manual” by Rick Bayless. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Rick Bayless. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Mild
Total time
~20 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 17 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~4
est., not stated in the video: 680 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 6 agrees
Cost
~$3.54*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$12.46* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
18

Ingredients

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$10.61*for the batch in the video
~$3.54*per serving

You save about ~$12.46* per serving (78% less*) than ordering it out — ~$37.39* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario plate of 3 tacos, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

1 ingredient priced from Ontario averages · 10 predicted from typical costs · not priced: dried ancho chiles, cumin seeds, achiote paste, agave syrup, fresh pineapple, pork shoulder roast

* Estimate, not a quote: predicted from the ingredient list: 1 line(s) priced from Ontario averages, the rest filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario plate of 3 tacos at ~$16, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (1 here)

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving640 kcal · 32% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat46 g59%
Saturated fat13 g64%
Sodium3,395 mg148%
Carbohydrate25 g9%
Fiber5.9 g21%
Total sugars8.1 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein33 g66%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+13 of 20
  • Saturated fat−20 of 20
  • Sodium−20 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 13 of 14 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 4 servings (estimated: 680 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 6 agrees). Not counted because the video gives no amount: white onion, fresh cilantro, corn tortillas, chipotle salsa. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • skillet
  • cast iron skillet
  • spatula
  • blender
  • molcajete
  • baking sheet
  • pastry brush
  • chef's knife
  • cutting board
  • outdoor grill
  • tongs

What the video didn’t say

  • totalMin is not explicitly stated.
  • servings count is not explicitly stated.

Read from the public video by gemini-3.8-flash on 2026-10-02. Thumbnail and video are Rick Bayless’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.