Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Chinese · Shen’s Zen Bites

Cabbage and pork dumplings

From the video “Better Than Takeout! Authentic Chinese Pork & Cabbage Dumplings Recipe | Easy Step-by-Step Tutorial” by Shen’s Zen Bites. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Shen’s Zen Bites. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Not spicy
Total time
~10 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 7 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~6
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (7: 500 g wrapper flour at ~75 g per serving (about 10 dumplings)) and model check (4)
Cost
~$4.49*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$16.51* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
13

Ingredients

May contain gluten, shellfish, soy, sesame

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$13.48*for the batch in the video
~$4.49*per serving

You save about ~$16.51* per serving (79% less*) than ordering it out — ~$49.52* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario meat entrée, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

7 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 4 predicted from typical costs · not priced: pork belly, dark soy sauce, chicken bouillon powder, chinese five-spice powder

* Estimate, not a quote: 4 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario meat entrée at ~$21, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (1 here)

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving820 kcal · 41% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat48 g61%
Saturated fat17 g83%
Sodium302 mg13%
Carbohydrate79 g29%
Fiber8.5 g30%
Total sugars8.2 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein20 g40%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+13 of 20
  • Fiber+15 of 20
  • Saturated fat−20 of 20
  • Sodium−3 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 6 of 9 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 6 servings (estimated: average of rules (7: 500 g wrapper flour at ~75 g per serving (about 10 dumplings)) and model check (4)). Not counted because the video gives no amount: ginger, salt, spring onion. Not matched to nutrient data: dark soy sauce, chicken bouillon powder, chinese five-spice powder. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • knife
  • cutting board
  • bowl
  • pot
  • spatula
  • rolling pin

What the video didn’t say

  • servings not specified
  • total time not specified
  • exact water volume for dough and filling not specified

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Shen’s Zen Bites’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.