Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Japanese · Taiji ́s Kitchen

Chicken nabe

From the video “How to cook Chicken Hotpot 🍲 〜鶏の水炊き〜 | easy Japanese home cooking recipe” by Taiji ́s Kitchen. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Taiji ́s Kitchen. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personEasyFine for a weeknight
Not spicy
Total time
~5 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 4 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~3
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (2: 350 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (4)
Cost
~$4.02*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$16.98* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Easy
Ingredients
14

Ingredients

  • No pork

May contain gluten, shellfish, soy

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$12.05*for the batch in the video
~$4.02*per serving

You save about ~$16.98* per serving (81% less*) than ordering it out — ~$50.95* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario meat entrée, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

7 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 5 predicted from typical costs · not priced: daikon radish, oyster mushroom, shimeji mushroom, pressed tofu, kombu kelp

* Estimate, not a quote: 5 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario meat entrée at ~$21, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (1 here)

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving200 kcal · 10% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat7.3 g9%
Saturated fat1.4 g7%
Sodium1,022 mg44%
Carbohydrate11 g4%
Fiber2.3 g8%
Total sugars5.6 gno daily value
Added sugars4.3 g9%
Protein24 g48%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+16 of 20
  • Saturated fat−7 of 20
  • Sodium−20 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−9 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 8 of 12 ingredient lines (99% of the measured weight), divided into 3 servings (estimated: average of rules (2: 350 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (4)). Not counted because the video gives no amount: spinach, oyster mushroom, ginger. Not matched to nutrient data: daikon radish, kombu kelp. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • cutting board
  • knife
  • garlic smasher
  • bowl
  • hotpot

What the video didn’t say

  • exact cooking times
  • stove heat levels in watts

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Taiji ́s Kitchen’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.