Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Italian · Weekend at the Cottage

Italian chopped salad

From the video “The best ITALIAN CHOPPED SALAD recipe ever!” by Weekend at the Cottage. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Weekend at the Cottage. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Not spicy
Total time
~50 min
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (65 min: 0 min stated in steps + 48 min for 16 steps without a time + 16 min prep for 21 ingredients) and model check (35 min)
Serves
~6
est., not stated in the video: model estimate (no quantities to work from)
Cost
~$6.10*
per serving, Ontario (~2 portions assumed)save ~$8.90* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
21

Ingredients

May contain dairy

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$12.19*for the batch in the video
~$6.10*per serving

You save about ~$8.90* per serving (59% less*) than ordering it out — ~$17.81* for ~2 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario salad or bowl, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

6 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 9 predicted from typical costs · not priced: provolone cheese, fennel salami, celery, baby cucumbers, black olives, cured artichokes…

* Estimate, not a quote: predicted from the ingredient list: 6 line(s) priced from Ontario averages, the rest filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 2 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario salad or bowl at ~$15, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (5 here)

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving252 kcal · 13% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat20 g25%
Saturated fat2.6 g13%
Sodium524 mg23%
Carbohydrate16 g6%
Fiber5.7 g20%
Total sugars4.5 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein4.8 g10%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+10 of 20
  • Fiber+20 of 20
  • Saturated fat−10 of 20
  • Sodium−18 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 13 of 19 ingredient lines (96% of the measured weight), divided into 6 servings (estimated: model estimate (no quantities to work from)). Not counted because the video gives no amount: provolone cheese, fennel salami, cured artichokes, hearts of palm, flat leaf parsley, radicchio and 1 more. Not matched to nutrient data: black olives. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • cutting board
  • knife
  • storage container
  • large mixing bowl
  • glass jar with lid

What the video didn’t say

  • Exact measurements for provolone, salami, artichokes, hearts of palm, parsley, and radicchio were not stated.
  • Servings count and preparation time were not mentioned.

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Weekend at the Cottage’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.