Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Italian · Binging with Babish

Spaghetti carbonara

From the video “Carbonara | Basics with Babish” by Binging with Babish. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Binging with Babish. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Not spicy
Total time
~30 min
est., not stated in the video: 0 min stated in steps + 24 min for 8 steps without a time + 8 min prep for 10 ingredients; model check 35 min agrees
Serves
~4
est., not stated in the video: 604 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 4 agrees
Cost
~$4.33*
per serving, Ontario (~2 portions assumed)save ~$17.67* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
10

Ingredients

May contain gluten, dairy, egg

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$8.65*for the batch in the video
~$4.33*per serving

You save about ~$17.67* per serving (80% less*) than ordering it out — ~$35.35* for ~2 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario carbonara pasta, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

3 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 4 predicted from typical costs · not priced: guanciale, pecorino romano cheese

* Estimate, not a quote: 4 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 2 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario carbonara pasta at ~$22, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (2 here)

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving623 kcal · 31% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat54 g70%
Saturated fat21 g103%
Sodium1,313 mg57%
Carbohydrate1.5 g1%
Fiber0 g0%
Total sugars0.8 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein30 g60%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexTreat
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber0 of 20
  • Saturated fat−20 of 20
  • Sodium−18 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 5 of 7 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 4 servings (estimated: 604 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 4 agrees). Not counted because the video gives no amount: parmigiano reggiano cheese, black pepper, salt, pasta, garlic. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • knife
  • measuring cup
  • bowl
  • cheese grater
  • scale
  • fork
  • pan
  • pot
  • tongs
  • carving fork

What the video didn’t say

  • servings
  • totalMin
  • exact pasta amount
  • exact garlic amount
  • exact salt and pepper amounts

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-02. Thumbnail and video are Binging with Babish’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.