Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Mexican · Binging with Babish

Carnitas

From the video “Easy Carnitas | Basics with Babish” by Binging with Babish. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Binging with Babish. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personInvolvedWeekend project
Mild
Total time
~535 min
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (770 min: 730 min stated in steps + 18 min for 6 steps without a time + 23 min prep for 30 ingredients) and model check (300 min)
Serves
~11
est., not stated in the video: 1814 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 8 agrees
Cost
~$7.65*
per serving, Ontario (~4 portions assumed)save ~$9.35* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Involved
Ingredients
30

Ingredients

May contain gluten, dairy

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$30.60*for the batch in the video
~$7.65*per serving

You save about ~$9.35* per serving (55% less*) than ordering it out — ~$37.40* for ~4 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario carnitas plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

1 ingredient priced from Ontario averages · 25 predicted from typical costs · not priced: pork shoulder, lard, orange, coca-cola, toasted cumin seeds, evaporated milk…

* Estimate, not a quote: predicted from the ingredient list: 1 line(s) priced from Ontario averages, the rest filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 4 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario carnitas plate at ~$17, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving602 kcal · 30% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat48 g61%
Saturated fat17 g83%
Sodium384 mg17%
Carbohydrate8.1 g3%
Fiber0.6 g2%
Total sugars4.6 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein33 g67%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+1 of 20
  • Saturated fat−20 of 20
  • Sodium−5 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 12 of 13 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 11 servings (estimated: 1814 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 8 agrees). Typical amounts assumed for neutral-flavored oil, Black Forest ham, because the video doesn’t say how much. Not counted because the video gives no amount: kosher salt, corn tortillas, diced onion, cilantro, lime, sour cream and 11 more. Not matched to nutrient data: slider rolls. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • Dutch oven
  • Baking sheet
  • Cast iron pan
  • Tongs
  • Ladle
  • Chef's knife
  • Cutting board

What the video didn’t say

  • Exact cooking times for nachos and cubanos
  • Servings count

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash on 2026-10-02. Thumbnail and video are Binging with Babish’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.