Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Japanese · Cooking with Dog

Katsudon

From the video “How to Make Katsudon (Pork Tonkatsu Rice Bowl Recipe) | Cooking with Dog” by Cooking with Dog. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Cooking with Dog. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Not spicy
Total time
~50 min
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (65 min: 4 min stated in steps + 48 min for 16 steps without a time + 11 min prep for 14 ingredients) and model check (35 min)
Serves
1
Cost
~$3.96*
per serving, Ontariosave ~$14.04* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
16

Ingredients

May contain gluten, egg, soy, fish

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$3.96*for 1 person

You save about ~$14.04* per serving (78% less*) than ordering it out.

Order out = a typical Ontario Japanese restaurant plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

8 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 4 predicted from typical costs

* Estimate, not a quote: 4 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario Japanese restaurant plate at ~$18, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving567 kcal · 28% of 2,000Recipe makes 1 serving
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat9.2 g12%
Saturated fat2.7 g14%
Sodium1,151 mg50%
Carbohydrate75 g27%
Fiber2.1 g8%
Total sugars14 gno daily value
Added sugars11 g22%
Protein42 g85%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+5 of 20
  • Saturated fat−5 of 20
  • Sodium−18 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−8 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 8 of 11 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 1 serving as stated in the video. Not counted because the video gives no amount: mitsuba, salt, pepper, flour, nama-panko bread crumbs, frying oil. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • knife
  • cutting board
  • meat mallet
  • bowls
  • whisk
  • pan
  • pot for deep frying
  • tongs
  • draining rack
  • spatula

What the video didn’t say

  • Total cooking time and preparation duration are not specified.

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Cooking with Dog’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.