Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

European · Gordon Ramsay

Beef stew with dumplings

From the video “Beef & Ale Stew with Mustard Dumplings | Gordon Ramsay” by Gordon Ramsay. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Gordon Ramsay. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Not spicy
Total time
~220 min
est., not stated in the video: 170 min stated in steps + 39 min for 13 steps without a time + 12 min prep for 16 ingredients; model check 210 min agrees
Serves
~6
est., not stated in the video: model estimate (no quantities to work from)
Cost
~$8.74*
per serving, Ontario (~4 portions assumed)save ~$2.26* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
17

Ingredients

  • No pork

May contain gluten

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$34.96*for the batch in the video
~$8.74*per serving

You save about ~$2.26* per serving (21% less*) than ordering it out — ~$9.04* for ~4 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario bowl of soup, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

6 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 5 predicted from typical costs · not priced: ale or beer, beef stock, self-raising flour, suet

* Estimate, not a quote: 5 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 4 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario bowl of soup at ~$11, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (3 here)

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving717 kcal · 36% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat30 g38%
Saturated fat11 g57%
Sodium418 mg18%
Carbohydrate73 g27%
Fiber8.5 g30%
Total sugars43 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein37 g75%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexBalanced
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+17 of 20
  • Saturated fat−16 of 20
  • Sodium−5 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 12 of 14 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 6 servings (estimated: model estimate (no quantities to work from)). Typical amounts assumed for stewing beef, beef stock, self-raising flour, because the video doesn’t say how much. Not counted because the video gives no amount: salt and pepper, suet, fresh parsley. Not matched to nutrient data: fresh thyme. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • Dutch oven
  • mixing bowl
  • chef's knife
  • cutting board

What the video didn’t say

  • exact quantities of beef, flour, suet, and stock
  • oven temperature unit (assumed Celsius based on 150 degrees for slow cooking)
  • servings
  • total cooking time

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Gordon Ramsay’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.