Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Japanese · Joshua Weissman

Katsu curry

From the video “Perfect Homemade Katsu Curry” by Joshua Weissman. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Joshua Weissman. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personInvolvedWeekend project
Not spicy
Total time
~5 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 6 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~3
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (1: 160 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (4)
Cost
~$9.25*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$8.75* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Involved
Ingredients
33

Ingredients

May contain gluten, dairy, egg, soy, fish, sesame

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$27.74*for the batch in the video
~$9.25*per serving

You save about ~$8.75* per serving (49% less*) than ordering it out — ~$26.26* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario curry with rice, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

19 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 8 predicted from typical costs · not priced: ukari shiso rice seasoning, shiitake mushrooms, msg, worcestershire sauce, shiitake mushroom-fortified chicken stock

* Estimate, not a quote: 8 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario curry with rice at ~$18, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (5 here)

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving1,324 kcal · 66% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat70 g89%
Saturated fat40 g199%
Sodium3,527 mg153%
Carbohydrate150 g54%
Fiber21 g76%
Total sugars44 gno daily value
Added sugars14 g29%
Protein27 g55%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+11 of 20
  • Fiber+20 of 20
  • Saturated fat−20 of 20
  • Sodium−20 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−4 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 22 of 27 ingredient lines (99% of the measured weight), divided into 3 servings (estimated: average of rules (1: 160 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (4)). Not counted because the video gives no amount: short-grain tomaki gold rice, salt, msg, vegetable oil, furikake, green onion. Not matched to nutrient data: ukari shiso rice seasoning, msg. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • mandoline
  • saucepan
  • large container
  • wooden spoon
  • blender
  • fine mesh strainer
  • rice cooker
  • knife
  • meat mallet
  • mixing bowls
  • heavy-bottom pot
  • wire cooling rack
  • tong

What the video didn’t say

  • exact servings yield
  • total preparation and cooking time

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Joshua Weissman’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.