Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Italian · Joshua Weissman

Meatball sub

From the video “Making The Subway Meatball Sub At Home | But Better” by Joshua Weissman. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Joshua Weissman. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personInvolvedWeekend project
Not spicy
Total time
~5 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 6 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~5
est., not stated in the video: 780 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 4 agrees
Cost
~$7.20*
per serving, Ontario (~2 portions assumed)save ~$8.80* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Involved
Ingredients
26

Ingredients

May contain gluten, dairy, egg

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$14.40*for the batch in the video
~$7.20*per serving

You save about ~$8.80* per serving (55% less*) than ordering it out — ~$17.60* for ~2 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario sandwich or burger, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

9 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 10 predicted from typical costs · not priced: lard, instant yeast, pork boston butt, fennel seeds, prosciutto, fresh grated nutmeg…

* Estimate, not a quote: predicted from the ingredient list: 9 line(s) priced from Ontario averages, the rest filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 2 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario sandwich or burger at ~$16, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (5 here)

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving1,135 kcal · 57% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat61 g78%
Saturated fat18 g92%
Sodium1,768 mg77%
Carbohydrate100 g36%
Fiber6.6 g24%
Total sugars12 gno daily value
Added sugars2.6 g5%
Protein48 g95%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+8 of 20
  • Saturated fat−16 of 20
  • Sodium−13 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−1 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 17 of 23 ingredient lines (93% of the measured weight), divided into 5 servings (estimated: 780 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 4 agrees). Typical amounts assumed for parmesan reggiano, fresh grated nutmeg, milk, fresh basil, because the video doesn’t say how much. Not counted because the video gives no amount: fresh ground black pepper, kosher salt, provolone. Not matched to nutrient data: instant yeast, fennel seeds, prosciutto, high heat oil, panchetta. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • stand mixer
  • baking sheet
  • skillet
  • meat grinder
  • oven

What the video didn’t say

  • exact baking time for bread
  • exact simmering time for meatballs
  • baking temperature
  • specific quantities for some seasonings

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Joshua Weissman’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.