Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

North American · Joshua Weissman

Buttermilk pancakes

From the video “Making IHOP Pancakes at Home | But Better” by Joshua Weissman. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Joshua Weissman. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personInvolvedWeekend project
Not spicy
Total time
~10 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 7 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~5
est., not stated in the video: 313 g flour at ~60 g flour per serving; model check 4 agrees
Cost
~$6.15*
per serving, Ontario (~4 portions assumed)save ~$7.85* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Involved
Ingredients
36

Ingredients

  • Vegetarian

May contain gluten, dairy, egg

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$24.58*for the batch in the video
~$6.15*per serving

You save about ~$7.85* per serving (56% less*) than ordering it out — ~$31.42* for ~4 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario pancake breakfast, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

15 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 15 predicted from typical costs · not priced: baking soda, baking powder, buttermilk, vanilla extract, fresh blueberries (for batter), fresh blueberries (for sauce)…

* Estimate, not a quote: 15 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 4 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario pancake breakfast at ~$14, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving1,346 kcal · 67% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat47 g61%
Saturated fat26 g132%
Sodium1,378 mg60%
Carbohydrate224 g81%
Fiber5.3 g19%
Total sugars167 gno daily value
Added sugars152 g304%
Protein15 g29%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexTreat
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+6 of 20
  • Fiber+6 of 20
  • Saturated fat−19 of 20
  • Sodium−9 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−20 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 31 of 32 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 5 servings (estimated: 313 g flour at ~60 g flour per serving; model check 4 agrees). Not counted because the video gives no amount: cooking spray, softened salted butter, maple syrup. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • large bowl
  • whisk
  • non-stick griddle
  • 4 oz. scooper
  • saucepan
  • fine mesh strainer
  • electric mixer
  • thermometer
  • piping bag

What the video didn’t say

  • servings
  • total preparation time
  • exact heat levels for griddle and saucepans

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash on 2026-10-01. Thumbnail and video are Joshua Weissman’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.