Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

North American · J. Kenji López-Alt

Black bean burgers

From the video “Really Awesome Black Bean Burgers | Kenji's Cooking Show” by J. Kenji López-Alt. RecipesMD is not affiliated with J. Kenji López-Alt. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Medium
Total time
~20 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 21 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~4
est., not stated in the video: model estimate (no quantities to work from)
Cost
~$4.47*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$13.53* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
16

Ingredients

  • Vegetarian

May contain tree nuts, gluten, dairy, egg

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$13.41*for the batch in the video
~$4.47*per serving

You save about ~$13.53* per serving (75% less*) than ordering it out — ~$40.59* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario casual-restaurant plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

5 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 8 predicted from typical costs · not priced: roasted cashews, chipotle peppers in adobo, cotija cheese, pepper jack cheese

* Estimate, not a quote: 8 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario casual-restaurant plate at ~$18, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (3 here)

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving971 kcal · 49% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat61 g78%
Saturated fat9.8 g49%
Sodium896 mg39%
Carbohydrate80 g29%
Fiber20 g72%
Total sugars7 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein31 g62%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexBalanced
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+17 of 20
  • Fiber+20 of 20
  • Saturated fat−10 of 20
  • Sodium−8 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 8 of 11 ingredient lines (95% of the measured weight), divided into 4 servings (estimated: model estimate (no quantities to work from)). Not counted because the video gives no amount: salt, roasted hatch chilies, burger buns, red onion, arugula. Not matched to nutrient data: chipotle peppers in adobo, cotija cheese, pepper jack cheese. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • sheet tray
  • skillet
  • food processor
  • grill

What the video didn’t say

  • exact amount of hatch chilies
  • exact amount of panko breadcrumbs
  • exact cooking times for patties
  • servings
  • totalMin

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are J. Kenji López-Alt’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.