Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Chinese · J. Kenji López-Alt

Mapo tofu

From the video “The Wok: My Mom's Mapo Tofu | Kenji's Cooking Show” by J. Kenji López-Alt. RecipesMD is not affiliated with J. Kenji López-Alt. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personEasyFine for a weeknight
Mild
Total time
~10 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 8 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~3
est., not stated in the video: 567 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 2 agrees
Cost
~$2.13*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$14.87* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Easy
Ingredients
12

Ingredients

  • No pork

May contain gluten, soy

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$6.40*for the batch in the video
~$2.13*per serving

You save about ~$14.87* per serving (87% less*) than ordering it out — ~$44.60* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario mapo tofu with rice, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

6 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 3 predicted from typical costs · not priced: firm silken tofu, sake

* Estimate, not a quote: 3 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario mapo tofu with rice at ~$17, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (1 here)

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving261 kcal · 13% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat14 g18%
Saturated fat2.7 g14%
Sodium686 mg30%
Carbohydrate12 g4%
Fiber0.8 g3%
Total sugars5.8 gno daily value
Added sugars4.3 g9%
Protein20 g40%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+4 of 20
  • Saturated fat−10 of 20
  • Sodium−20 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−7 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 10 of 10 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 3 servings (estimated: 567 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 2 agrees). Not counted because the video gives no amount: crunchy garlic chili oil. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • wok
  • wok spatula
  • chef's knife
  • cutting board
  • prep bowls

What the video didn’t say

  • Exact serving count was not specified.
  • Exact prep/cook times were not provided.

Read from the public video by gemini-3.8-flash on 2026-10-01. Thumbnail and video are J. Kenji López-Alt’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.