Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

European · J. Kenji López-Alt

Tortilla española

From the video “Quick Tortilla Española” by J. Kenji López-Alt. RecipesMD is not affiliated with J. Kenji López-Alt. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Not spicy
Total time
~55 min
est., not stated in the video: 0 min stated in steps + 48 min for 16 steps without a time + 8 min prep for 11 ingredients; model check 45 min agrees
Serves
~4
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (2: 400 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (6)
Cost
~$1.94*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$20.06* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
11

Ingredients

  • Vegetarian

May contain egg

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$5.81*for the batch in the video
~$1.94*per serving

You save about ~$20.06* per serving (91% less*) than ordering it out — ~$60.19* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario bistro plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

4 ingredients priced from Ontario averages

* Estimate, not a quote: every counted line priced from Ontario averages; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario bistro plate at ~$22, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (1 here)

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving916 kcal · 46% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat77 g99%
Saturated fat13 g63%
Sodium157 mg7%
Carbohydrate41 g15%
Fiber4.8 g17%
Total sugars2.2 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein17 g35%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+10 of 20
  • Fiber+8 of 20
  • Saturated fat−14 of 20
  • Sodium−1 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 5 of 7 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 4 servings (estimated: average of rules (2: 400 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (6)). Not counted because the video gives no amount: onion, salt, black pepper, mayonnaise, extra virgin olive oil. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • pan
  • bowl
  • chopsticks
  • spatula
  • wooden lid
  • microplane
  • knife

What the video didn’t say

  • Exact onion quantity
  • Exact salt and pepper quantities
  • Exact cooking durations and exact heat settings

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are J. Kenji López-Alt’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.