Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

European · Natashas Kitchen

Borscht

From the video “Classic Ukrainian Borscht Recipe” by Natashas Kitchen. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Natashas Kitchen. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Not spicy
Total time
~75 min
est., not stated in the video: 37 min stated in steps + 24 min for 8 steps without a time + 15 min prep for 20 ingredients; model check 55 min agrees
Serves
~6
est., not stated in the video: 960 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 6 agrees
Cost
~$4.41*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$17.59* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
21

Ingredients

  • No pork

May contain gluten, dairy

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$13.23*for the batch in the video
~$4.41*per serving

You save about ~$17.59* per serving (80% less*) than ordering it out — ~$52.77* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario bistro plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

8 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 6 predicted from typical costs · not priced: celery, beets, fresh dill, french baguette

* Estimate, not a quote: 6 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario bistro plate at ~$22, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving342 kcal · 17% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat11 g14%
Saturated fat1.7 g9%
Sodium911 mg40%
Carbohydrate52 g19%
Fiber9.1 g33%
Total sugars7.9 gno daily value
Added sugars2.4 g5%
Protein14 g27%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexBalanced
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+20 of 20
  • Saturated fat−5 of 20
  • Sodium−20 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−3 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 15 of 18 ingredient lines (98% of the measured weight), divided into 6 servings (estimated: 960 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 6 agrees). Not counted because the video gives no amount: sour cream, butter. Not matched to nutrient data: beets, fresh dill, French baguette. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • food processor
  • Dutch oven
  • skillet
  • garlic press

What the video didn’t say

  • exact servings
  • total cooking time

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Natashas Kitchen’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.