Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Chinese · Rainbow Plant Life

Stir-fried tofu with vegetables

From the video “Tofu Stir Fry, my latest weeknight obsession” by Rainbow Plant Life. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Rainbow Plant Life. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Mild
Total time
~10 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 8 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~3
est., not stated in the video: 454 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 2 agrees
Cost
~$3.30*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$12.70* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
26

Ingredients

  • Vegan

May contain gluten, soy, sesame

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$9.91*for the batch in the video
~$3.30*per serving

You save about ~$12.70* per serving (79% less*) than ordering it out — ~$38.09* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario vegetarian entrée, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

15 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 4 predicted from typical costs · not priced: shaoxing wine, white pepper, chinese five spice powder, toasted sesame seeds

* Estimate, not a quote: 4 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario vegetarian entrée at ~$16, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving379 kcal · 19% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat18 g23%
Saturated fat2.6 g13%
Sodium1,070 mg47%
Carbohydrate30 g11%
Fiber5.8 g21%
Total sugars9.9 gno daily value
Added sugars7.4 g15%
Protein29 g58%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+20 of 20
  • Saturated fat−7 of 20
  • Sodium−20 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−8 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 18 of 21 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 3 servings (estimated: 454 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 2 agrees). Not counted because the video gives no amount: snap peas, garlic, ginger, rice, high-heat neutral oil. Not matched to nutrient data: Chinese five spice powder. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • wok
  • pressure cooker
  • knife
  • cutting board
  • measuring spoons
  • jar
  • bowls
  • spatula

What the video didn’t say

  • exact quantity of snap peas
  • exact quantity of rice
  • servings
  • total cooking time

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Rainbow Plant Life’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.