Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Chinese · Spice N' Pans

Braised fish with ginger and scallion

From the video “Granny's Quick Braised Fish in Ginger & Oyster Sauce 阿嬷蚝油姜汁红烧鱼 Super Easy Chinese Soy Fish Recipe” by Spice N' Pans. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Spice N' Pans. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personEasyFine for a weeknight
Not spicy
Total time
~30 min
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (35 min: 3 min stated in steps + 24 min for 8 steps without a time + 8 min prep for 11 ingredients) and model check (20 min)
Serves
~2
est., not stated in the video: 300 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 2 agrees
Cost
~$3.67*
per serving, Ontario (~2 portions assumed)save ~$23.33* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Easy
Ingredients
12

Ingredients

  • No pork

May contain gluten, shellfish, soy, fish, sesame

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$7.34*for the batch in the video
~$3.67*per serving

You save about ~$23.33* per serving (86% less*) than ordering it out — ~$46.66* for ~2 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario seafood entrée, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

6 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 2 predicted from typical costs

* Estimate, not a quote: 2 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 2 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario seafood entrée at ~$27, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving340 kcal · 17% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat20 g26%
Saturated fat7.9 g40%
Sodium1,347 mg59%
Carbohydrate5.8 g2%
Fiber0.3 g1%
Total sugars1.2 gno daily value
Added sugars1 g2%
Protein32 g64%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexTreat
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+1 of 20
  • Saturated fat−20 of 20
  • Sodium−20 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−1 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 8 of 9 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 2 servings (estimated: 300 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 2 agrees). Not counted because the video gives no amount: white pepper, cooking oil, spring onion. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • pan
  • spatula
  • paper towel
  • lid

What the video didn’t say

  • servings
  • total cooking time
  • exact amount of cooking oil
  • exact amount of spring onion

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Spice N' Pans’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.