Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Chinese · The Woks of Life

Sesame chicken

From the video “Sesame Chicken - Our Perfected, Restaurant Recipe!” by The Woks of Life. RecipesMD is not affiliated with The Woks of Life. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Not spicy
Total time
~5 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 6 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~4
est., not stated in the video: 634 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 4 agrees
Cost
~$3.23*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$17.77* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
26

Ingredients

  • No pork

May contain gluten, shellfish, soy, sesame

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$9.68*for the batch in the video
~$3.23*per serving

You save about ~$17.77* per serving (85% less*) than ordering it out — ~$53.32* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario meat entrée, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

11 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 8 predicted from typical costs · not priced: onion powder, white pepper, shaoxing wine, msg, clear rice wine or shaoxing wine, ground white pepper…

* Estimate, not a quote: 8 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario meat entrée at ~$21, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving341 kcal · 17% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat11 g14%
Saturated fat2 g10%
Sodium976 mg42%
Carbohydrate33 g12%
Fiber0.5 g2%
Total sugars14 gno daily value
Added sugars14 g28%
Protein25 g49%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexTreat
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+2 of 20
  • Saturated fat−6 of 20
  • Sodium−20 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−16 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 22 of 24 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 4 servings (estimated: 634 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 4 agrees). Not matched to nutrient data: onion powder, MSG. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • wok
  • cutting board
  • cleaver
  • mixing bowls
  • measuring cup
  • spatula
  • skimmer
  • thermometer
  • cast iron skillet

What the video didn’t say

  • Servings not stated
  • Total time not stated

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are The Woks of Life’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.