Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Asian-inspired · America's Test Kitchen

Beef stir fry

From the video “How to Make the Best Beef-Stir Fry with Bell Peppers” by America's Test Kitchen. RecipesMD is not affiliated with America's Test Kitchen. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumGreat weeknight pick
Not spicy
Total time
~70 min
est., not stated in the video: 27 min stated in steps + 30 min for 10 steps without a time + 15 min prep for 20 ingredients; model check 45 min agrees
Serves
~3
est., not stated in the video: 454 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 4 agrees
Cost
~$6.20*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$14.80* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
22

Ingredients

  • No pork

May contain gluten, shellfish, soy, sesame

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$18.59*for the batch in the video
~$6.20*per serving

You save about ~$14.80* per serving (70% less*) than ordering it out — ~$44.41* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario meat entrée, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

14 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 3 predicted from typical costs · not priced: baking soda, dry sherry

* Estimate, not a quote: 3 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario meat entrée at ~$21, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving549 kcal · 27% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat38 g48%
Saturated fat9.4 g47%
Sodium1,343 mg58%
Carbohydrate19 g7%
Fiber3.8 g14%
Total sugars7.8 gno daily value
Added sugars3.8 g8%
Protein34 g69%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+10 of 20
  • Saturated fat−17 of 20
  • Sodium−20 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−3 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 17 of 19 ingredient lines (96% of the measured weight), divided into 3 servings (estimated: 454 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 4 agrees). Not counted because the video gives no amount: cooked rice. Not matched to nutrient data: dry sherry. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • chef's knife
  • cutting board
  • mixing bowls
  • whisk
  • spatula
  • tongs
  • non-stick skillet

What the video didn’t say

  • servings
  • totalMin

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are America's Test Kitchen’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.