Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Mexican · America's Test Kitchen

Chile verde

From the video “How to Make Chile Verde con Cerdo with Julia Collin Davison” by America's Test Kitchen. RecipesMD is not affiliated with America's Test Kitchen. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personInvolvedWeekend project
Medium
Total time
~15 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 12 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~9
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (11: 1814 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (6)
Cost
~$5.56*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$10.44* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Involved
Ingredients
19

Ingredients

May contain gluten

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$16.69*for the batch in the video
~$5.56*per serving

You save about ~$10.44* per serving (65% less*) than ordering it out — ~$31.31* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario Mexican restaurant plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

4 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 5 predicted from typical costs · not priced: boston butt pork shoulder, tomatillos, poblano peppers, ground clove, tortillas

* Estimate, not a quote: predicted from the ingredient list: 4 line(s) priced from Ontario averages, the rest filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario Mexican restaurant plate at ~$16, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (1 here)

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving509 kcal · 25% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat38 g49%
Saturated fat13 g64%
Sodium1,167 mg51%
Carbohydrate4.5 g2%
Fiber0.7 g3%
Total sugars2 gno daily value
Added sugars0.9 g2%
Protein35 g70%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexTreat
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+2 of 20
  • Saturated fat−20 of 20
  • Sodium−20 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−1 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 14 of 17 ingredient lines (76% of the measured weight), divided into 9 servings (estimated: average of rules (11: 1814 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (6)). Not counted because the video gives no amount: ground clove, tortillas. Not matched to nutrient data: tomatillos, poblano peppers. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • cutting board
  • knife
  • bowl
  • plastic wrap
  • pot
  • colander
  • baking sheet
  • foil
  • food processor
  • slotted spoon
  • fork
  • oven

What the video didn’t say

  • Exact cooking temperature for browning trimmings
  • Exact baking sheet dimensions
  • Exact amount of vegetable oil used for drizzling

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are America's Test Kitchen’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.