Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

North American · America's Test Kitchen

Chicken cordon bleu

From the video “How to Make Chicken Cordon Bleu | America's Test Kitchen” by America's Test Kitchen. RecipesMD is not affiliated with America's Test Kitchen. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personInvolvedWeekend project
Not spicy
Total time
~10 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 8 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~6
est., not stated in the video: 960 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 4 agrees
Cost
~$9.45*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$11.55* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Involved
Ingredients
19

Ingredients

May contain gluten, dairy, egg

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$28.35*for the batch in the video
~$9.45*per serving

You save about ~$11.55* per serving (55% less*) than ordering it out — ~$34.65* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario meat entrée, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

9 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 5 predicted from typical costs · not priced: gruyere cheese, smoked black forest ham, prosciutto, lemon zest

* Estimate, not a quote: 5 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario meat entrée at ~$21, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (3 here)

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving539 kcal · 27% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat19 g25%
Saturated fat8 g40%
Sodium1,090 mg47%
Carbohydrate43 g16%
Fiber2.1 g8%
Total sugars5.3 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein46 g91%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+6 of 20
  • Saturated fat−15 of 20
  • Sodium−18 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 13 of 17 ingredient lines (92% of the measured weight), divided into 6 servings (estimated: 960 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 4 agrees). Typical amounts assumed for smoked black forest ham, because the video doesn’t say how much. Not counted because the video gives no amount: prosciutto, salt, black pepper, nutmeg. Not matched to nutrient data: gruyere cheese, vegetable oil. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • knife
  • ruler
  • meat pounder
  • plastic wrap
  • food processor
  • bowl
  • whisk
  • Dutch oven
  • wire rack
  • sheet pan
  • saucepan
  • spatula
  • thermometer

What the video didn’t say

  • servings not stated
  • total preparation and cooking time not stated

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are America's Test Kitchen’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.