Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

European · Binging with Babish

Pierogi

From the video “Pierogi | Basics with Babish” by Binging with Babish. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Binging with Babish. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personInvolvedWeekend project
Not spicy
Total time
~95 min
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (65 min: 0 min stated in steps + 45 min for 15 steps without a time + 21 min prep for 28 ingredients) and model check (120 min)
Serves
~5
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (3: 554 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (6)
Cost
~$10.85*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$11.15* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Involved
Ingredients
30

Ingredients

  • No pork

May contain gluten, dairy, egg

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$32.54*for the batch in the video
~$10.85*per serving

You save about ~$11.15* per serving (51% less*) than ordering it out — ~$33.46* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario bistro plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

14 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 8 predicted from typical costs · not priced: cheese, sauerkraut, beef stock

* Estimate, not a quote: 8 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario bistro plate at ~$22, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving1,300 kcal · 65% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat49 g63%
Saturated fat27 g136%
Sodium1,107 mg48%
Carbohydrate175 g64%
Fiber13 g48%
Total sugars38 gno daily value
Added sugars10 g20%
Protein43 g86%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+18 of 20
  • Fiber+15 of 20
  • Saturated fat−20 of 20
  • Sodium−7 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−3 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 18 of 24 ingredient lines (90% of the measured weight), divided into 5 servings (estimated: average of rules (3: 554 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (6)). Not counted because the video gives no amount: kosher salt, unsalted butter, neutral flavored oil, freshly ground pepper, fresh parsley, chives, or scallions. Not matched to nutrient data: cheese, sauerkraut. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • saucepan
  • bowl
  • whisk
  • rolling pin
  • biscuit cutter
  • colander
  • potato ricer
  • skillet
  • ice cream scooper

What the video didn’t say

  • servings not stated
  • total time not stated
  • exact holding temperature for freezer storage

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Binging with Babish’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.