Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Italian · Food Network

Butternut squash risotto

From the video “Ina Garten's 5-Star Butternut Squash Risotto | Barefoot Contessa | Food Network” by Food Network. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Food Network. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Not spicy
Total time
~85 min
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (105 min: 55 min stated in steps + 42 min for 14 steps without a time + 9 min prep for 12 ingredients) and model check (60 min)
Serves
~6
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (8: 1440 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (4)
Cost
~$5.68*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$15.32* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
12

Ingredients

May contain dairy

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$17.05*for the batch in the video
~$5.68*per serving

You save about ~$15.32* per serving (73% less*) than ordering it out — ~$45.95* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario pasta entrée, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

4 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 5 predicted from typical costs · not priced: pancetta, shallots, arborio rice, white wine, saffron

* Estimate, not a quote: predicted from the ingredient list: 4 line(s) priced from Ontario averages, the rest filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario pasta entrée at ~$21, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving339 kcal · 17% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat23 g29%
Saturated fat11 g55%
Sodium462 mg20%
Carbohydrate27 g10%
Fiber3.8 g14%
Total sugars5.1 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein12 g23%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+18 of 20
  • Fiber+16 of 20
  • Saturated fat−20 of 20
  • Sodium−12 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 6 of 10 ingredient lines (85% of the measured weight), divided into 6 servings (estimated: average of rules (8: 1440 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (4)). Typical amounts assumed for olive oil, because the video doesn’t say how much. Not counted because the video gives no amount: salt, black pepper, pancetta. Not matched to nutrient data: arborio rice, white wine, saffron. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • vegetable peeler
  • chef's knife
  • baking sheet
  • saucepan
  • Dutch oven
  • wooden spoon
  • ladle

What the video didn’t say

  • exact amount of pancetta
  • exact amount of olive oil, salt, and pepper
  • servings
  • total cooking time

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Food Network’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.