Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Mexican · Food Network

Chicken tortilla casserole

From the video “How to Make Ree's Chicken Tortilla Casserole | The Pioneer Woman | Food Network” by Food Network. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Food Network. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Mild
Total time
~90 min
est., not stated in the video: 40 min stated in steps + 39 min for 13 steps without a time + 13 min prep for 17 ingredients; model check 70 min agrees
Serves
~8
est., not stated in the video: model estimate (no quantities to work from)
Cost
~$6.44*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$14.56* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
18

Ingredients

  • No pork

May contain dairy

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$19.31*for the batch in the video
~$6.44*per serving

You save about ~$14.56* per serving (69% less*) than ordering it out — ~$43.69* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario meat entrée, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

7 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 5 predicted from typical costs · not priced: salsa verde, enchilada sauce, shredded cheese

* Estimate, not a quote: 5 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario meat entrée at ~$21, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Rough estimate: the video gives few amounts, so 85% of the weight below uses typical amounts.

Nutrition per serving509 kcal · 25% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat9.6 g12%
Saturated fat1.6 g8%
Sodium324 mg14%
Carbohydrate68 g25%
Fiber10 g36%
Total sugars7.3 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein39 g78%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexBalanced
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+20 of 20
  • Saturated fat−3 of 20
  • Sodium−5 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 12 of 15 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 8 servings (estimated: model estimate (no quantities to work from)). Typical amounts assumed for olive oil, garlic cloves, tomatoes, boneless skinless chicken breasts, pinto beans and kidney beans, cooked white rice and 1 more, because the video doesn’t say how much. Not counted because the video gives no amount: enchilada sauce, shredded cheese, sour cream, cilantro. Not matched to nutrient data: salsa verde. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • cast-iron skillet
  • wooden spoon
  • baking dish
  • aluminum foil
  • colander

What the video didn’t say

  • Exact number of servings not stated.
  • Exact total preparation and cooking time not stated.
  • Exact weights or volumes of diced chicken, rice, beans, corn, enchilada sauce, and cheese not stated.

Read from the public video by gemini-3.7-flash on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Food Network’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.