Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

European · Food Network

Croque monsieur

From the video “Ina Garten's Croque Monsieur | Barefoot Contessa | Food Network” by Food Network. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Food Network. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Not spicy
Total time
~50 min
est., not stated in the video: 19 min stated in steps + 24 min for 8 steps without a time + 8 min prep for 11 ingredients; model check 35 min agrees
Serves
~4
est., not stated in the video: model estimate (no quantities to work from)
Cost
~$3.29*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$18.71* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
11

Ingredients

May contain gluten, dairy

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$9.88*for the batch in the video
~$3.29*per serving

You save about ~$18.71* per serving (85% less*) than ordering it out — ~$56.12* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario bistro plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

4 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 5 predicted from typical costs · not priced: gruyere cheese

* Estimate, not a quote: 5 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario bistro plate at ~$22, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving435 kcal · 22% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat20 g25%
Saturated fat9.5 g48%
Sodium2,710 mg118%
Carbohydrate36 g13%
Fiber3.4 g12%
Total sugars8.4 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein28 g56%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+11 of 20
  • Saturated fat−20 of 20
  • Sodium−20 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 9 of 11 ingredient lines (90% of the measured weight), divided into 4 servings (estimated: model estimate (no quantities to work from)). Typical amounts assumed for bread, mustard, baked virginia ham, because the video doesn’t say how much. Not counted because the video gives no amount: nutmeg. Not matched to nutrient data: gruyere cheese. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • saucepan
  • wooden spoon
  • measuring cups
  • baking sheet
  • knife

What the video didn’t say

  • servings
  • totalMin
  • oven power and broil intensity settings

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Food Network’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.