Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

North American · Food Network

Grilled cheese sandwich

From the video “Ina Garten's Ultimate Grilled Cheese | Barefoot Contessa | Food Network” by Food Network. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Food Network. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Not spicy
Total time
~70 min
est., not stated in the video: 35 min stated in steps + 30 min for 10 steps without a time + 6 min prep for 8 ingredients; model check 45 min agrees
Serves
~4
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (2: 300 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (6)
Cost
~$6.44*
per serving, Ontario (~2 portions assumed)save ~$9.56* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
8

Ingredients

May contain gluten, dairy, egg

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$12.88*for the batch in the video
~$6.44*per serving

You save about ~$9.56* per serving (60% less*) than ordering it out — ~$19.12* for ~2 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario sandwich or burger, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

6 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 2 predicted from typical costs · not priced: homestyle bread, gruyere cheese

* Estimate, not a quote: 2 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 2 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario sandwich or burger at ~$16, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving876 kcal · 44% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat86 g110%
Saturated fat25 g124%
Sodium1,472 mg64%
Carbohydrate3.5 g1%
Fiber0.6 g2%
Total sugars0.9 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein23 g46%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexTreat
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+14 of 20
  • Fiber+1 of 20
  • Saturated fat−20 of 20
  • Sodium−15 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 5 of 8 ingredient lines (82% of the measured weight), divided into 4 servings (estimated: average of rules (2: 300 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (6)). Not counted because the video gives no amount: butter. Not matched to nutrient data: homestyle bread, Gruyere cheese. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • whisk
  • baking sheet with wire rack
  • food processor
  • panini press

What the video didn’t say

  • exact serving size
  • total preparation and cooking time
  • exact amount of butter used
  • exact number of bacon slices used

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Food Network’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.