Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Italian · Food Network

Italian wedding soup

From the video “Ina Garten's Italian Wedding Soup | Barefoot Contessa | Food Network” by Food Network. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Food Network. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Not spicy
Total time
~85 min
est., not stated in the video: 30 min stated in steps + 42 min for 14 steps without a time + 14 min prep for 18 ingredients; model check 60 min agrees
Serves
~6
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (8: 1420 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (4)
Cost
~$6.15*
per serving, Ontario (~4 portions assumed)save ~$4.85* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
18

Ingredients

  • No pork

May contain gluten, dairy, egg

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$24.61*for the batch in the video
~$6.15*per serving

You save about ~$4.85* per serving (44% less*) than ordering it out — ~$19.39* for ~4 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario bowl of soup, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

10 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 4 predicted from typical costs · not priced: chicken sausage, pecorino cheese, white wine, fresh dill

* Estimate, not a quote: 4 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 4 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario bowl of soup at ~$11, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving149 kcal · 7% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat6.6 g8%
Saturated fat2.5 g13%
Sodium449 mg20%
Carbohydrate10 g4%
Fiber1 g4%
Total sugars1.9 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein13 g27%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+10 of 20
  • Saturated fat−17 of 20
  • Sodium−20 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 13 of 17 ingredient lines (91% of the measured weight), divided into 6 servings (estimated: average of rules (8: 1420 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (4)). Not counted because the video gives no amount: olive oil, fresh dill, baby spinach leaves. Not matched to nutrient data: chicken sausage, white wine. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • food processor
  • bowl
  • knife
  • cutting board
  • grater
  • baking sheet
  • oven
  • pot
  • wooden spoon
  • ladle

What the video didn’t say

  • Exact baking temperature unit (assumed Fahrenheit)
  • Exact cooking time for vegetables
  • Servings total count not stated

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Food Network’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.