Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Chinese · Food Network

Kung pao chicken

From the video “How to Make Jet Tila's Kung Pao Chicken | Ready Jet Cook | Food Network” by Food Network. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Food Network. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Medium
Total time
~10 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 9 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~4
est., not stated in the video: model estimate (no quantities to work from)
Cost
~$4.31*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$16.69* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
23

Ingredients

  • No pork

May contain peanuts, gluten, shellfish, soy

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$12.92*for the batch in the video
~$4.31*per serving

You save about ~$16.69* per serving (79% less*) than ordering it out — ~$50.08* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario meat entrée, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

12 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 6 predicted from typical costs · not priced: baking soda, chinese chicken powder, sichuan peppercorn, red bell pepper, green bell pepper, neutral high-temperature oil

* Estimate, not a quote: 6 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario meat entrée at ~$21, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Rough estimate: the video gives few amounts, so 73% of the weight below uses typical amounts.

Nutrition per serving323 kcal · 16% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat16 g20%
Saturated fat2.7 g14%
Sodium972 mg42%
Carbohydrate17 g6%
Fiber2.7 g10%
Total sugars3.6 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein30 g59%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+12 of 20
  • Saturated fat−8 of 20
  • Sodium−20 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 19 of 20 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 4 servings (estimated: model estimate (no quantities to work from)). Typical amounts assumed for boneless chicken thighs, baking soda, cornstarch, cooking oil, soy sauce, oyster sauce and 9 more, because the video doesn’t say how much. Not counted because the video gives no amount: Sichuan peppercorn, neutral high-temperature oil. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • cutting board
  • chef's knife
  • mixing bowls
  • spoon
  • measuring cup
  • wok
  • stove
  • wok shovel

What the video didn’t say

  • Exact ingredient quantities for most ingredients were not specified.
  • Cooking times and heat levels were approximate.

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Food Network’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.