Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

North American · Food Network

Short ribs

From the video “Barefoot Contessa's Red Wine-Braised Short Ribs | Barefoot Contessa: Cook Like a Pro | Food Network” by Food Network. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Food Network. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personInvolvedWeekend project
Not spicy
Total time
~175 min
est., not stated in the video: 136 min stated in steps + 27 min for 9 steps without a time + 13 min prep for 17 ingredients; model check 210 min agrees
Serves
~10
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (13: 2268 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (6)
Cost
~$4.33*
per serving, Ontario (~2 portions assumed)save ~$29.67* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Involved
Ingredients
17

Ingredients

  • No pork

May contain gluten

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$8.66*for the batch in the video
~$4.33*per serving

You save about ~$29.67* per serving (87% less*) than ordering it out — ~$59.34* for ~2 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario meat entrée, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

2 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 7 predicted from typical costs · not priced: short ribs, leeks, celery, carrots, red wine, beef stock…

* Estimate, not a quote: predicted from the ingredient list: 2 line(s) priced from Ontario averages, the rest filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 2 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario meat entrée at ~$34, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving648 kcal · 32% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat47 g61%
Saturated fat19 g95%
Sodium2,209 mg96%
Carbohydrate14 g5%
Fiber3 g11%
Total sugars5.7 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein43 g87%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+7 of 20
  • Saturated fat−20 of 20
  • Sodium−20 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 12 of 15 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 10 servings (estimated: average of rules (13: 2268 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (6)). Not counted because the video gives no amount: olive oil, garlic, thyme. Not matched to nutrient data: red wine, stout beer. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • baking sheet
  • basting brush
  • Dutch oven
  • salad spinner
  • knife
  • cutting board
  • wooden spoon
  • slotted spoon
  • tongs

What the video didn’t say

  • exact garlic quantity
  • exact thyme amount
  • servings
  • total preparation and cooking time

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Food Network’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.