Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

North American · Food Network

Shortbread cookies

From the video “Ina Garten's Shortbread Cookies | Barefoot Contessa | Food Network” by Food Network. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Food Network. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personEasyWeekend project
Not spicy
Total time
~100 min
est., not stated in the video: 56 min stated in steps + 39 min for 13 steps without a time + 5 min prep for 7 ingredients; model check 75 min agrees
Serves
~18
est., not stated in the video: 445 g flour at ~25 g flour per serving; model check 24 agrees
Cost
~$0.72*
per serving, Ontario (~10 portions assumed)save ~$3.28* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Easy
Ingredients
7

Ingredients

  • Vegetarian

May contain gluten, dairy

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$7.22*for the batch in the video
~$0.72*per serving

You save about ~$3.28* per serving (82% less*) than ordering it out — ~$32.78* for ~10 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario café baked good, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

3 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 3 predicted from typical costs · not priced: vanilla extract

* Estimate, not a quote: 3 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 10 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario café baked good at ~$4, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (1 here)

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving270 kcal · 14% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat16 g20%
Saturated fat9.7 g49%
Sodium154 mg7%
Carbohydrate30 g11%
Fiber0.7 g3%
Total sugars11 gno daily value
Added sugars11 g23%
Protein2.7 g5%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexTreat
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+5 of 20
  • Fiber+4 of 20
  • Saturated fat−20 of 20
  • Sodium−5 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−17 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 5 of 7 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 18 servings (estimated: 445 g flour at ~25 g flour per serving; model check 24 agrees). Not counted because the video gives no amount: sugar, semi-sweet chocolate. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • electric mixer
  • paddle attachment
  • rolling pin
  • pastry cutter
  • half sheet pan
  • parchment paper
  • knife
  • microwave
  • glass bowl
  • wooden spoon

What the video didn’t say

  • servings not stated
  • total preparation and cooking time not stated
  • exact amount of chocolate not stated

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Food Network’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.