Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Italian · Jamie Oliver

Penne with sausage and fennel

From the video “Sausage Pasta | Gennaro Contaldo | Italian Special” by Jamie Oliver. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Jamie Oliver. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personEasyGreat weeknight pick
Mild
Total time
~5 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 5 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~2
est., not stated in the video: model estimate (no quantities to work from)
Cost
~$3.40*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$17.60* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Easy
Ingredients
10

Ingredients

  • Vegetarian

May contain gluten, dairy

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$10.19*for the batch in the video
~$3.40*per serving

You save about ~$17.60* per serving (84% less*) than ordering it out — ~$52.81* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario pasta entrée, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

1 ingredient priced from Ontario averages · 5 predicted from typical costs · not priced: sausages, white wine, chili, farfalle pasta

* Estimate, not a quote: predicted from the ingredient list: 1 line(s) priced from Ontario averages, the rest filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario pasta entrée at ~$21, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (8 here)

Nutrition & health

Rough estimate: the video gives few amounts, so 98% of the weight below uses typical amounts.

Nutrition per serving561 kcal · 28% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat9.6 g12%
Saturated fat1.4 g7%
Sodium17 mg1%
Carbohydrate100 g36%
Fiber4.9 g18%
Total sugars3.9 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein18 g36%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexBalanced
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+17 of 20
  • Fiber+13 of 20
  • Saturated fat−2 of 20
  • Sodium−0 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 5 of 7 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 2 servings (estimated: model estimate (no quantities to work from)). Typical amounts assumed for olive oil, broccoli sprouts, pasta water, farfalle pasta, because the video doesn’t say how much. Not counted because the video gives no amount: white wine, chili, salt, parmesan cheese. Not matched to nutrient data: sausages. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • pan
  • knife
  • wooden spoon
  • ladle
  • lid
  • strainer
  • tongs
  • grater

What the video didn’t say

  • exact quantities of ingredients are not stated
  • cooking times are approximate

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Jamie Oliver’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.