Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Japanese · Just One Cookbook

Gyoza

From the video “How To Make Gyoza (Japanese Potstickers) (Recipe)  餃子の作り方 (レシピ)” by Just One Cookbook. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Just One Cookbook. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Mild
Total time
~50 min
est., not stated in the video: 3 min stated in steps + 36 min for 12 steps without a time + 13 min prep for 17 ingredients; model check 50 min agrees
Serves
~3
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (2: 340 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (4)
Cost
~$3.63*
per serving, Ontario (~2 portions assumed)save ~$14.37* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
19

Ingredients

May contain gluten, soy, sesame

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$7.26*for the batch in the video
~$3.63*per serving

You save about ~$14.37* per serving (80% less*) than ordering it out — ~$28.74* for ~2 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario Japanese restaurant plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

10 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 3 predicted from typical costs · not priced: sake, gyoza wrappers, la-yu

* Estimate, not a quote: 3 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 2 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario Japanese restaurant plate at ~$18, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving386 kcal · 19% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat32 g41%
Saturated fat9.7 g49%
Sodium651 mg28%
Carbohydrate3 g1%
Fiber0.6 g2%
Total sugars0.6 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein21 g41%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+2 of 20
  • Saturated fat−20 of 20
  • Sodium−15 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 13 of 16 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 3 servings (estimated: average of rules (2: 340 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (4)). Not counted because the video gives no amount: cabbage, black pepper. Not matched to nutrient data: gyoza wrappers, la-yu. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • knife
  • cutting board
  • mixing bowl
  • grater
  • skillet
  • lid

What the video didn’t say

  • Exact cooking time for crisping bottoms after steaming is not specified in minutes.
  • Total preparation and cooking time is not stated.

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Just One Cookbook’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.