Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Chinese · Kitchen Sanctuary

Sweet and sour chicken

From the video “Homemade Sweet and Sour Chicken in 30 Minutes or LESS!” by Kitchen Sanctuary. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Kitchen Sanctuary. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumGreat weeknight pick
Not spicy
Total time
~50 min
est., not stated in the video: 9 min stated in steps + 27 min for 9 steps without a time + 16 min prep for 21 ingredients; model check 40 min agrees
Serves
~3
est., not stated in the video: average of rules (1: 100 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (4)
Cost
~$3.56*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$17.44* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
21

Ingredients

  • No pork

May contain gluten, egg, sesame

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$10.68*for the batch in the video
~$3.56*per serving

You save about ~$17.44* per serving (83% less*) than ordering it out — ~$52.32* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario meat entrée, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

8 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 6 predicted from typical costs · not priced: cornflour, green pepper, malt vinegar, pineapple chunks with juice, boiled rice, sesame seeds

* Estimate, not a quote: 6 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario meat entrée at ~$21, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Rough estimate: the video gives few amounts, so 89% of the weight below uses typical amounts.

Nutrition per serving666 kcal · 33% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat40 g51%
Saturated fat8 g40%
Sodium400 mg17%
Carbohydrate51 g18%
Fiber2.8 g10%
Total sugars31 gno daily value
Added sugars22 g44%
Protein28 g56%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+6 of 20
  • Saturated fat−12 of 20
  • Sodium−5 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−13 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 14 of 17 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 3 servings (estimated: average of rules (1: 100 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving) and model check (4)). Typical amounts assumed for oil, plain flour, garlic salt, paprika, chicken, white onion and 6 more, because the video doesn’t say how much. Not counted because the video gives no amount: cornflour, salt, pepper, red pepper, green pepper, malt vinegar and 1 more. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • wok
  • bowls
  • spatula
  • tongs

What the video didn’t say

  • servings
  • totalMin
  • exact ingredient amounts
  • exact spice measurements

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Kitchen Sanctuary’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.