Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

South Asian · Kitchen Sanctuary

Sweet potato and chickpea curry

From the video “Chickpea & Sweet Potato Curry. Perfect Vegetarian curry ready in 30 mins” by Kitchen Sanctuary. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Kitchen Sanctuary. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personEasyGreat weeknight pick
Not spicy
Total time
30 min
Serves
~4
est., not stated in the video: model estimate (no quantities to work from)
Cost
~$5.88*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$12.12* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Easy
Ingredients
17

Ingredients

  • Vegan

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$17.64*for the batch in the video
~$5.88*per serving

You save about ~$12.12* per serving (67% less*) than ordering it out — ~$36.36* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario curry with rice, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

7 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 2 predicted from typical costs · not priced: ground coriander, chickpeas

* Estimate, not a quote: 2 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario curry with rice at ~$18, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving588 kcal · 29% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat32 g42%
Saturated fat20 g99%
Sodium660 mg29%
Carbohydrate68 g25%
Fiber16 g58%
Total sugars17 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein15 g30%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+13 of 20
  • Fiber+20 of 20
  • Saturated fat−20 of 20
  • Sodium−10 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 16 of 17 ingredient lines (99% of the measured weight), divided into 4 servings (estimated: model estimate (no quantities to work from)). Not matched to nutrient data: ground coriander. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • large pan
  • wooden spoon
  • chopping board

What the video didn’t say

  • Servings count is not stated in the audio or text.

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Kitchen Sanctuary’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.