Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

European · Kitchen Sanctuary

Swedish meatballs

From the video “How to make Swedish Meatballs | Homemade Ikea Meatballs” by Kitchen Sanctuary. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Kitchen Sanctuary. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumGreat weeknight pick
Not spicy
Total time
~55 min
est., not stated in the video: 6 min stated in steps + 30 min for 10 steps without a time + 20 min prep for 26 ingredients; model check 45 min agrees
Serves
~5
est., not stated in the video: 800 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 4 agrees
Cost
~$6.24*
per serving, Ontario (~3 portions assumed)save ~$15.76* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
26

Ingredients

May contain gluten, dairy, egg, soy, fish

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$18.72*for the batch in the video
~$6.24*per serving

You save about ~$15.76* per serving (72% less*) than ordering it out — ~$47.28* for ~3 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario bistro plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

12 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 8 predicted from typical costs · not priced: white pepper, allspice, beef stock, worcestershire sauce

* Estimate, not a quote: 8 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 3 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario bistro plate at ~$22, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving563 kcal · 28% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat41 g52%
Saturated fat19 g94%
Sodium848 mg37%
Carbohydrate14 g5%
Fiber1.2 g4%
Total sugars4 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein34 g67%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+3 of 20
  • Saturated fat−20 of 20
  • Sodium−13 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 20 of 24 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 5 servings (estimated: 800 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; model check 4 agrees). Not counted because the video gives no amount: mashed potato, lingonberry jam, green vegetables, fresh parsley, black pepper. Not matched to nutrient data: allspice. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • glass mixing bowl
  • frying pan
  • tongs
  • baking tray
  • oven
  • whisk

What the video didn’t say

  • Servings not explicitly stated.
  • Total cooking time not explicitly stated.

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Kitchen Sanctuary’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.