Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Thai & Southeast Asian · Pailin's Kitchen

Larb gai

From the video “Laab Gai - Spicy Chicken Salad Recipe - Hot Thai Kitchen!” by Pailin's Kitchen. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Pailin's Kitchen. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumWeekend project
Medium
Total time
~10 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 7 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~2
est., not stated in the video: model estimate (no quantities to work from)
Cost
~$6.70*
per serving, Ontario (~2 portions assumed)save ~$10.30* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
18

Ingredients

  • No pork

May contain fish

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$13.40*for the batch in the video
~$6.70*per serving

You save about ~$10.30* per serving (61% less*) than ordering it out — ~$20.60* for ~2 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario Southeast Asian restaurant plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

5 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 11 predicted from typical costs · not priced: raw sticky rice, kaffir lime leaf, dark meat chicken, white meat chicken, toasted rice powder, sawtooth coriander

* Estimate, not a quote: predicted from the ingredient list: 5 line(s) priced from Ontario averages, the rest filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 2 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario Southeast Asian restaurant plate at ~$17, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (1 here)

Nutrition & health

Not estimated: no amount for the main ingredient (crispy chicken skin).

Equipment

  • pan
  • mortar and pestle
  • cleaver
  • cutting board
  • wooden spatula

What the video didn’t say

  • servings
  • total preparation and cooking time
  • heat levels
  • brand names

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-05. Thumbnail and video are Pailin's Kitchen’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.