Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Thai & Southeast Asian · Pailin's Kitchen

Pad kra pao (holy basil stir-fry)

From the video “How to PAD KRA PAO Anything (Thai Holy Basil Stir Fry)” by Pailin's Kitchen. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Pailin's Kitchen. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Medium
Total time
~10 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 7 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~2
est., not stated in the video: model estimate (no quantities to work from)
Cost
~$2.91*
per serving, Ontario (~2 portions assumed)save ~$14.09* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
14

Ingredients

  • No pork

May contain gluten, shellfish, soy, fish

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$5.82*for the batch in the video
~$2.91*per serving

You save about ~$14.09* per serving (83% less*) than ordering it out — ~$28.18* for ~2 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario pad kra pao with rice, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

0 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 11 predicted from typical costs

* Estimate, not a quote: predicted from the ingredient list: 0 line(s) priced from Ontario averages, the rest filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 2 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario pad kra pao with rice at ~$17, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.
  • estimated: Estimated: the video doesn't give this amount, so it's our model's best guess. Check it against the video.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess (14 here)

Nutrition & health

Rough estimate: the video gives few amounts, so 100% of the weight below uses typical amounts.

Nutrition per serving332 kcal · 17% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat16 g20%
Saturated fat5.5 g28%
Sodium182 mg8%
Carbohydrate0 g0%
Fiber0 g0%
Total sugars0 gno daily value
Added sugars0 g0%
Protein45 g89%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber0 of 20
  • Saturated fat−17 of 20
  • Sodium−5 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)0 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 2 of 2 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 2 servings (estimated: model estimate (no quantities to work from)). Typical amounts assumed for boneless skinless chicken thighs, cooked steak, because the video doesn’t say how much. Not counted because the video gives no amount: oyster sauce, soy sauce, fish sauce, black soy sauce, sugar, spicy Thai chilis and 5 more. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • bowl
  • mini whisk
  • mortar and pestle
  • cutting board
  • knife
  • wok
  • wooden spatula

What the video didn’t say

  • servings amount
  • total preparation and cooking time
  • exact ingredient quantities
  • heat settings

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash-lite on 2026-10-01. Thumbnail and video are Pailin's Kitchen’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.