Plays on YouTube · loads when you press play

← Recipes from creators

Thai & Southeast Asian · Pailin's Kitchen

Shrimp pad thai

From the video “My BEST Authentic Pad Thai Recipe ผัดไทยกุ้งสด - Hot Thai Kitchen” by Pailin's Kitchen. RecipesMD is not affiliated with Pailin's Kitchen. Steps are in our own words.

Machine-read from the video · not yet checked by a personMediumFine for a weeknight
Mild
Total time
~15 min
est., not stated in the video: the video's own timeline: 15 min from the first to the last step on screen, plus finishing
Serves
~2
est., not stated in the video: 335 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; 1.3 servings of rice/noodles (~90 g dry or ~200 g cooked each); model check 2 agrees
Cost
~$7.01*
per serving, Ontario (~2 portions assumed)save ~$10.99* vs ordering out
Difficulty
Medium
Ingredients
18

Ingredients

  • Pescatarian

May contain peanuts, egg, shellfish, soy, fish

Read from the ingredient list. Check packaging if you have an allergy.

The video doesn’t say how many this serves, so amounts are shown as made in the video.

Ontario grocery estimate*

~$14.02*for the batch in the video
~$7.01*per serving

You save about ~$10.99* per serving (61% less*) than ordering it out — ~$21.98* for ~2 portions.

Order out = a typical Ontario pad thai plate, before delivery fees, tax and tip.

7 ingredients priced from Ontario averages · 7 predicted from typical costs · not priced: tamarind paste, shallots, sweet preserved radish, dried shrimp, bean sprouts, roasted peanuts

* Estimate, not a quote: 7 line(s) we couldn't price were filled with typical costs for their type; the video doesn't state how many it serves, so 2 portions were assumed; restaurant comparison is a typical Ontario pad thai plate at ~$18, before delivery fees, tax and tip. Prices: Ontario averages (StatCan 2026-07) + RecipesMD estimates, pro-rated, staples excluded.

  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • stated: Said aloud or written on screen in the video.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.
  • shown: Seen in the video; the amount was read from what's shown.

stated said or written in the video · shown seen in the video · estimated our guess

Nutrition & health

Nutrition per serving706 kcal · 35% of 2,000
NutrientAmountDaily value
Fat19 g24%
Saturated fat3.8 g19%
Sodium1,766 mg77%
Carbohydrate97 g35%
Fiber8.4 g30%
Total sugars33 gno daily value
Added sugars18 g35%
Protein45 g89%

Estimate from the ingredient list — not dietary advice. % Daily Value uses FDA reference amounts; 5% or less is low, 20% or more is high. Added sugars are counted from sweeteners and sweet sauces in the list.

Health indexMiddle of the road
  • Starting point60
  • Protein+20 of 20
  • Fiber+17 of 20
  • Saturated fat−5 of 20
  • Sodium−20 of 20
  • Added sugars (estimate)−10 of 20

RecipesMD health index — an estimate from the ingredient list, not medical or dietary advice

From 14 of 15 ingredient lines (100% of the measured weight), divided into 2 servings (estimated: 335 g protein foods at ~170 g per serving; 1.3 servings of rice/noodles (~90 g dry or ~200 g cooked each); model check 2 agrees). Not counted because the video gives no amount: chili flakes, garlic chives, cooking oil. Source: USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy (2018-04, public domain) + 4 Branded Foods records.

Equipment

  • saucepan
  • chef's knife
  • cutting board
  • wok
  • spatula
  • tongs

What the video didn’t say

  • Exact heat levels for caramelizing sugar and stir-frying
  • Number of servings (likely 1-2)
  • Total preparation and cooking time
  • Exact amount of garlic chives used

Read from the public video by gemini-3.5-flash on 2026-10-01. Thumbnail and video are Pailin's Kitchen’s, shown through YouTube’s official embed.